2016 Award Recipients

The ITS Champion Of The Year  recipient was Senator Jeff Brandes for his tireless efforts related to the advancement of Intelligent Transportation Systems, Transportation and Autonomous Vehicles Projects in Florida.


The Professional Of The Year was presented toVishal Kakkad, Manatee Countyin recognition of his outstanding service to ITS In Florida and his unwavering contribution to the advancement of the transportation industry

The Member of the Year Award was presented to the Florida Department of Transportation, Central Office for its development and implementation of the autonomous and connected vehicle ITS program.

Florida Department of TransportationDistrict 4, received the Outstanding Achievement Award for the Development of a Mobile Maintenance and Inventory Management Systems (MIMS).


Russell Allen, Department of Transportation, Central Office, was the recipient of an Outstanding Achievement Award for his role in the FDOT Data Integration and Video Aggregation System (DIVAS) and 511 System.